6 more Kentucky counties switch to regional driver licensing offices

Published 5:44 am Wednesday, February 2, 2022

Six more Kentucky counties are switching to regional driver licensing offices.

Counties making the transition in February are Anderson, Bourbon, Grant, Montgomery, Shelby and Spencer, the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet said in a statement.

The circuit court clerk’s offices in those counties will not provide services after Feb. 18. Instead, customers will be referred to a regional office.

The new system administered by the Transportation Cabinet gives residents more choices and modern services, the agency said.

Twenty regional offices have been opened around the state, and officials say they plan to complete the transition for all counties by June 30.

“We are using technology to offer more service options than ever before, such as online appointment scheduling, online license renewal and mail-in renewal,” Gov Andy Beshear said.