7 Kentucky schools get national Blue Ribbon recognition

Published 6:00 am Wednesday, September 22, 2021

Seven Kentucky schools have been named National Blue Ribbon Schools for 2021, the U.S. Department of Education said.

The recognition is based on a school’s academic performance or its progress in closing achievement gaps, Education Secretary Miguel Cardona said Tuesday in a statement.

The Kentucky schools included on the list were Anchorage Public School, Saint Henry District High School in Erlanger, Blessed Sacrament Elementary School in Fort Mitchell, Gamaliel Elementary School, Rosa Parks Elementary School in Lexington, Greathouse Shryock Traditional School in Louisville and Heath Elementary School in West Paducah.

“This year’s cohort of honorees demonstrates what is possible when committed educators and school leaders create vibrant, welcoming, and affirming school cultures where rich teaching and learning can flourish,” Cardona said. “In the face of unprecedented circumstances, you found creative ways to engage, care for, protect, and teach our children.