Semifinalists named for 2022 Kentucky Teacher of the Year

Published 6:01 am Wednesday, August 4, 2021

Ten educators have been named semifinalists for the 2022 Kentucky Teacher of the Year award.

Final awards for the elementary, middle and high school Teacher of the Year as well as the overall 2022 Kentucky Teacher of the Year will be announced in a virtual ceremony in September, the Kentucky Department of Education and sponsor Valvoline Inc. said Monday in a statement.

The elementary school semifinalists include Kandi Dawson at Murray Elementary, Cindy Hundley at Gutermuth Elementary, Miranda Newland at Campbell Elementary and Ashley Ritchie at Beechwood Elementary.

The middle school semifinalists include Hallie Booth at Ballyshannon Middle, Jason Hand at Stuart Academy and Morgan Preston at Corbin Middle.

The high school semifinalists include Jodie Carnes at Lynn Camp School, Willie Edward Taylor Carver Jr. at Montgomery County High and Jennifer Sims at Hart County High.

They are among 24 educators named 2022 Valvoline Teacher Achievement Award winners. All will receive cash prizes.