Disaster food benefits available for residents of 9 Kentucky counties

Published 4:17 am Tuesday, June 8, 2021

Residents of nine eastern Kentucky counties hit by severe flooding this year may be eligible to apply for disaster food benefits, Gov. Andy Beshear said.

The seven-day application period began Monday, the governor said.

The food benefits are for flood-affected Kentuckians who lived or worked in the following counties between Feb. 26 and March 14 when flooding occurred: Breathitt, Clay, Estill, Floyd, Johnson, Lee, Magoffin, Martin and Powell. The state is seeking federal approval to extend the benefits to another 22 counties, Beshear’s office said Monday.

“We are grateful for the quick aid response we continue to receive from FEMA and our state, local and federal government partners,” Beshear said.

Flood victims are encouraged to apply for food benefits by calling the Department for Community Based Services’ Call Services Center at (855) 306-8959. Or they may apply at DCBS offices in the affected counties. Approved applicants will pick up benefit cards in their local offices.