9 Kentucky counties going to regional driver license offices

Published 5:36 am Wednesday, April 21, 2021

Nine Kentucky counties are changing over this month to driver licensing regional offices operated by the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet.

The counties are Adair, Breathitt, Floyd, Hopkins, Madison, McCracken, Pulaski, Rowan and Russell, the cabinet said in a news release.

The offices will provide the licensing services that have been handled by the local circuit court clerk offices in those counties. The clerk offices in the nine counties will end nearly all in-person driver licensing services on Monday.

Circuit clerk offices in every county, except Fayette, will continue processing remotely submitted applications for renewal or replacement of standard-issue licenses and IDs until June 30. It was an emergency measure during the coronavirus pandemic.
Fayette, Franklin and Woodford counties made the transition earlier. The new system is to be phased in statewide by June 30, 2022.

More information about regional offices is available online.